The beginning.

I think “hello world” is a good place to begin.  So hello!  My name is Caronae.  I live in New York.  I like to bake cupcakes, run ultramarathons, and write.  I have a sister and a cat.  I do not have a boyfriend.  I like Zora Neale Hurston and Toni Morrison  and Frida Kahlo and Pablo Picasso.  And I wrote a report about Georgia O’Keefe in second grade, so I kind of like her too.  More than anything, I wish I could fly, like an osprey or a hummingbird or a woodpecker.  I struggle with depression and anxiety, but I have come to realize there is something beautiful about the struggle.  When I write, I am closest to flying.  I also go to therapy every week and do yoga a lot.  I never learned to love myself, and this had serious consequences leading to a minor (okay, maybe major)  meltdown about a year ago.  So this blog is about learning to love myself.  Learning to treat my mind and my body as though they are sacred.  Each day, I move forward in some small way.  Maybe I have had a major realization, or maybe I have simply discovered a new flower along my favorite running path.  Or maybe it is just good to be alive.  Telling stories is a major part of my life, and I am hoping to use this blog to do just that.  I am not perfect.  I am not always happy or engaging or beautiful.  But I have come a long way, and I have begun to love myself.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hangrypants
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 23:14:59

    I am v. Excited for your new blogging advenure! Best of luck!

    Reply

  2. aron
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 12:10:21

    YAY welcome to the blog world!!! I was excited to see there was a blog linked to your comment today 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hangry Pants
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 19:27:34

    I am still glad you decided to start blogging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

